Getting Off My Butt for a Good Cause

Last week I found an app from Wooftrax (Walk for a Dog)  that allowed me to track walking my pup Lucy. Not only could I track our route, time, speed, and distance, I was making a donation to one of my favorite rescues just for walking Lucy. Talk about a win-win! Fortunately for me one of the rescues I follow on FB mentioned Wooftrax. Just for the record, since then, I have seen other similar apps mentioned.

Once I started monitoring our walks and really did see how far we were walking on a daily basis, I decided to commit to walking at least one mile per day. We had some exceptionally nice days this past week so we had almost 2 miles per day for several days. Well then, I thought, if we walked 2 miles per day, we could actually almost make a goal of 15 miles per week, which is about 14 miles per week more than what we are walking now!

Lucy is a 7 month old, high energy foxhound/coonhound/beagle/deer mix pup, and it really takes a lot to tire her out. Me not so much. But the upside is that I’ve seen my appetite for junk food decrease, and I’m losing some extra weight that needs to go. Unfortunately my disposition hasn’t improved much, but maybe that will be next!

One thought on “Getting Off My Butt for a Good Cause

Leave a Reply

